

120th Annual General Meeting Minutes

Date: Friday 21 June 2024

Time: 6:30 p.m.

Venue: Richmond Yacht Club, Westhaven Drive

Present: President, Commodore, Vice Commodore, Rear Commodore, Treasurer, Acting Secretary John Marshall and

21 members

Apologies: Keith Bekker, Gregory Thwaite, Andy Bevan, Peter Osboldstone, Coen Ursem, Jeremy Cope, Dagmar Bellamy, Nigel Garland, Liz Henderson, David Cashmore

WHO	DETAILS
Commodore	Welcome and introductions – Commodore opened meeting and welcomed President, Flag Officers, Committee and members. Apologies - announced and accepted as per above. Minutes of 2023 Annual General Meeting presented, no issues raised by attendees. Commodore moved the 2023 AGM Minutes be accepted, Seconded: Mike Harvey, Carried. Commodore report – presented to those attending.
Secretary	Secretary's Report – presented to those attending.
Treasurer	Treasurers report and 2023/2024 Annual accounts – Treasurer presented and talked through the 2023/2024 Annual Accounts and Balance Sheet. Items of note discussed including: Adopting new format showing service performance statistics. 5% growth in membership. Participation numbers, based on vessels entered in each race of the series has grown but impacted by weather events. Overall estimated sailors participation has grown by 9%. Small surplus recorded this year, moderately higher than last year's surplus. Slight revenue decline along with a larger decline in expenses. The club continues to be in good financial position. Treasurer moved that the 2023/2024 Annual Accounts be accepted, Seconded: Russell Hawken, Carried.

Treasurer	Treasurer proposed membership subs and other fees for 2023/2024 do not change.
	Seconded: Rodney Janes, Carried.
	Questions asked and answered regarding: not raising fees in light of current inflation
	pressures; Building assessment and Warrant of Fitness; plans for reinvestment when
	interest rates fall in future.
	No further comments from the floor were received.
Commodore	Election of President.
	Sole nomination - Hans Swete. Elected unopposed.
President	Election of roles - The following nominations were received by the appointed
	deadline.
	- Commodore – Chris Crone .
	- Vice Commodore - Jacky Bush
	- Rear Commodore – Mike Matthews
	- Secretary - John Marshall
	- Treasurer - Steve Morriss
	All unopposed, Carried.
	- General Committee Members
	Returning committee members - Andy Bevan, David Cashmore,
	Gregory Thwaite, Jeremy Cope, Tony Evans, John Marshall
	New committee member nominations: Damon Paling and Russell
	Hawken
	Seconded Rodney Janes, carried.
	Stepping down: Keith Bekker and Liz Henderson. Their contributions
	were acknowledged and applauded.
	- Appointment of Honorary Auditor and Solicitor – Moved by Commodore that
	Mike McGlone and Donald Webster be appointed to the role of Honorary
	Auditor and Solicitor respectively. Unopposed and carried.
Commodore	Presentation of special awards and Gifts
	- Fantastic Race officers recognized and appreciated.
	- Handbook editors recognized.
	- Plain sailing editor acknowledged.
	- Blake Memorial Shield awarded to Keith Bekker.
	General Business
	- Congratulations from member to racing committee on adopting PHRF and
	suggestion to let owners know about how to get PHRF certificates.
	Free membership draw won by member Mark Timmins.
	Committee welcomed, date for first committee meeting for 2024 set to 15 th July at 6pm.
	Thanked members for attending.
	Meeting closed 7.20pm.